About the Salford Methodist Circuit

The Salford Methodist Circuit is made up of 8

 churches, serving communities from rural Glazebrook to Swinton to the inner-city developments of Langworthy and Ordsall. See more about our churches here

There are two Methodist Ministers stationed in the Circuit, who work closely with two associated Anglican Clergy through the ecumenical partnership at Emmanuel. In 2018 the circuit employed two lay staff with a focus on Children & Families and Communications.

We are part of the Manchester and Stockport Methodist District in the North West & Mann Region of the Methodist Church in Britain.

A Brief History

The first Salford Circuit was formed in 2001 when the Salford group of Churches left the then Manchester and Salford Mission Circuit and joined with the Swinton Circuit.

Things changed again when the Salford Circuit joined with the former Cadishead and Eccles Circuit in August 2003, creating a Circuit that stretched from Rixton (Warrington) in the West to Salford in the East. A year later Rixton became part of the Warrington Circuit meaning the the west end of the Circuit is now at Glazebrook. Pendlebury and Wardley Churches closed in March 2008 as did Salem in 2011 and Worsley Road in 2014.

In 2011, Salford Methodist Community Church merged with St. Ambrose Anglican Church and now meet as a Local Eccumenical Partnership (LEP) as Emmanuel Church


You can find more details on the closed churches here.



Follow us on Facebook

Find our videos on YouTube

© 2020 Salford Methodist Circuit.